Introduce yourself…

Hi, my name is Andrew Scott. I teach design at the School of Design, Queensland University of Technology, Brisbane.

I’m excited about the potential of the new Design syllabus to spread knowledge of design problem solving, increase community understanding of design and lift the standard of incoming university design students.

My background is industrial design and but I teach First Year students in all disciplines of our Bachelor of Design course:

• architecture
  • fashion
  • graphic communication
  • industrial design
  • interactive design
  • interior design
  • landscape architecture

I’m not a big LinkedIn user but I’d be happy to add design teachers to my LinkedIn network. Andrew Scott on LinkedIn

Hi, my name is Nick Kelly and I’m a senior research fellow at QUT. I work with high school design teachers and so these are particularly interesting times, with the ACARA digitech and design & tech syllabuses, and with the senior design syllabus here in Queensland.

One of the things that I’m most interested in with my research is how I can help facilitate teachers to form meaningful communities - so you can see why I was so interested to help set up this site!

On my website I put up articles from time to time and it has links to my work and how to contact me.

I’m really keen to work with teachers across Queensland as we all figure out together how best to teach this senior design syllabus, so I’ll be keeping a keen eye on this site.

Hi, I’m Carol-Anne Durkin.
I am a Design and Technology teacher at Holy Spirit College in Mackay. I have been there for 5 years since moving to Australia front Scotland.
Prior to that, I was head of Business, Design and Technologies at Oban High School in Scotland. I have been teaching for 15 years. Still loving it and still learning new things all the time.
I am delighted to see the development of these professional networks to promote the subject and to share best practice.

Hi, I’m Evie Skinner.